Canada Reads Shortlist 2019

January 31, 2019

Canada Reads Shortlist 2019

Congrats to all who have made this year's Canada Reads Shortlist!

Thumb 1548962142 images

Brother

David Chariandy

Winner of the 2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, David Chariandy's Brother is his intensely beautiful, searingly powerful, and tightly constructed second novel, exploring questions of...

More Info
Store favourite David Chariandy's novel Brother is among the finalists. Brother just so happens to be the first ever book we launched at our new Event Space and Kids Store, La Petite Drawn and Quarterly! 
    Thumb 1548962170 images

    Suzanne

    Anais Barbeau-Lavalette

    Eighty-five years of art and history through the eyes of a woman who fled her family – as re-imagined by her granddaughter. Anaïs Barbeau-Lavalette...

    More Info

    Also included in the list is Montrealer Anaïs Barbeau-Lavalette. Suzanne was originally published as La femme qui fuit, 2016, and has became a runaway bestseller here in Quebec. The english translation was done by Governor General's Award Winning Translator, Montrealer, (and Librairie Drawn & Quarterly regular!) Rhonda Mullins. Mullins has also hosted several events in store over the years.

    Thumb 1548962062 images

    By Chance Alone

    Max Eisen

    In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivorFinalist for the 2017 RBC Taylor...

    More Info
    Thumb 1548962115 images

    Homes

    Abu Bakr al Rabeeah, Winnie Yeung

    Finalist for the 2018 Governor General's Award for Non-FictionIn 2010, the al Rabeeah family left their home in Iraq in hope of a safer...

    More Info
    Thumb 1548962241 images

    The Woo-Woo

    Lindsay Wong

    Shortlisted for the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust of Canada Prize for Nonfiction In this jaw-dropping, darkly comedic memoir, a young woman comes of age...

    More Info

    Check out more about the books and judges here

    Posted by

    Luke Langille

    Store Manager