Teen books by Black authors we love

Thumb 1645049720 images

Bitter

Akwaeke Emezi

From National Book Award finalist Akwaeke Emezi comes a companion novel to the critically acclaimed PET that explores both the importance and cost of...

More Info
Thumb 1549045885 images

Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi

InstantNew York Times BestsellerNew York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great...

More Info
Thumb 1613636812 images

Pet

Akwaeke Emezi

Now in paperback, the National Book Award finalist and genre-defying novel by award-winning author Akwaeke Emezi that explores themes of identity and justice. Pet...

More Info
Thumb 1645812398 images

Felix Ever After

Kacen Callender

A Stonewall Honor Book * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All TimeFrom Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory...

More Info
Thumb 1558309628 images

Hot Comb

Ebony Flowers

An auspicioius debut examining the culuture of hair from the Rona Jaffe Foundation award-winning cartoonist Hot Comb offers a poignant glimpse into Black women's...

More Info
Thumb 1616001514 images

Who Put This Song On?

Morgan Parker

"Unflinchingly irreverent, laugh-out-loud funny, and heartbreakingly honest." —Elizabeth Acevedo, National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author of The Poet XIn the...

More Info
Thumb 1550340328 images

The Hate U Give

Angie Thomas

8 starred reviews · Goodreads Choice Awards Best of the Best  ·  William C. Morris Award Winner · National Book Award Longlist · Printz...

More Info
Thumb 1579710635 images

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Ben Philippe

Morris Award Finalist for Best Debut YA Novel of the Year!A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who...

More Info
Thumb 1610470694 images

Concrete Rose

Angie Thomas

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of...

More Info
Thumb 1576527137 images

Children of Virtue and Vengeance

Tomi Adeyemi

AGOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK“Meet Tomi Adeyemi—the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she’s that good).”—Entertainment WeeklyAfter battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally...

More Info
Thumb 1645812667 images

Long Way Down

Jason Reynolds

“An intense snapshot of the chain reaction caused by pulling a trigger.” —Booklist (starred review) “Astonishing.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “A tour de force.”...

More Info
Thumb 1549309830 images

Aya: Love in Yop City

Marguerite Abouet

THE DRAMATIC CONCLUSION TO THE AYA SERIESAya: Love in Yop Citycomprises the final three chapters of theAyastory, episodes never before seen in English.Ayais a...

More Info
Thumb 1645812818 images

The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina,...

More Info
Thumb 1645812751 images

On the Come Up

Angie Thomas

Major motion picture now filming! Starring Sanaa Lathan (in her directorial debut), Jamila C. Gray, Method Man, Mike Epps, and Da’Vine Joy Randolph.#1 New York Times...

More Info
Thumb 1585238718 images

Aya: Life in Yop City

Marguerite Abouet

"Ayais an irresistible comedy, a couple of love stories and a tale for becoming African. It's essential reading." --Joann Sfar, cartoonist ofThe Rabbi's CatIvory...

More Info
Thumb 1645812902 images

Punching the Air

Ibi Zoboi, Yusef Salaam

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the...

More Info